Upswing

This has been a great week. Whether it is a permanent upswing or just another crest of the roller-coaster ride, wont be clear for some time. I had a busy work week and got in some solid training miles. I did my first “long” run in a while, although it was on a flat rail trail I was still pleased to do a 20 miler. I also did my first run commute to my office. It is 9 miles each way. The way in was easier and I comfortably ran an 8:20 pace. The run home was a littler tougher because of the darkness and end of the day fatigue so I tacked on some time and ran an 8:44 pace. It will take some time getting accustomed to running on the road again, bad drivers make me nervous. I am lit up brighter than a Christmas tree with my Noxgear LED vest and my 600 lumen waist belt. If people are looking at the road they can definitely see me. Due to my schedule I wont be able to do this commute too often but I will be trying to squeeze it in as much as possible to work on my cadence and road running for Boston. My weekly miles are in the mid 50’s but anyone who knows me well understands that I wont be satisfied until I am back into my high mileage training of 100 per week.

Another big health improvement this week was being able to read without my eyes going bonkers. For a long time now I have had difficulty reading because the contrast of black and white makes everything flash. I am reading in short bursts but have been very excited to dive into some books about realigning the body through exercise. A topic that will help me and give me more insight and information for my job.

Well, partially because I am tired and partially because I have some almond carob hot cocoa with coconut whipped cream and a bag of Trader Joe’s Bollywood popcorn in front of me, I will cut this post short. I did a bad job taking photos this week but here are some of my running pics of new trail discoveries.

1 thought on “Upswing

Leave a comment